WG 1: New high-performance instrumentation and experimental methods


  • Dr Thomas Schlathölter, University of Groningen, Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, Groningen
  •  Research Interests:
    X-ray and ion induced interactions of gas-phase molecules VUV and soft X-ray spectroscopy on gas-phase molecules (e.g. proteins) Molecular hydrogen in the interstellar medium.
  •  t.a.schlatholter@rug.nl


  • Amanda Steber, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), Hamburgu, Germany
  •  Research Interests:
    I am predominantly interested in understanding the behavior of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) in a wide scope of environments. The goal is to experimentally obtain accurate structural information, not only of isolated PAHs but also PAHs complexed with water and small alcohols, in order to predict and quantify the tradeoff between self-aggregation and solvation that may be occurring in the interstellar medium. I am also interested in instrumental development, and the automation of instruments and data analysis.
  •  amanda.steber@desy.de


  • To improve and develop new methods to produce intense molecular ion beams in well- defined or narrow ranges of quantum states
  • To improve and develop new methods for forming isomer selected molecular ion beams
  • To develop efficient schemes for detecting neutral and charged particles and photons at room temperature and under cryogenic conditions
  • To develop efficient methods for measuring the luminescence from small and complex molecular systems
  • To develop and refine action spectroscopy methods
  • To develop ion-ion, ion-neutral, and ion-electron merged-beams technologies for low- temperature experiments


1. Alicja Domaracka
Centre de Recherche sur les Ions, les Materiaux et la Photonique, Caen
2. Marta Labuda
Gdańsk University of Technology, Faculty of Applied Physics and Mathematics, Gdansk
3. Henning Zettergren
Stockholm University, Department of Physics, Stockholm
4. Thomas Schlathölter
University of Groningen, Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, Groningen
5. Paola Bolognesi
Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR), CNR-ISM (Istituto di Struttura della Materia ), Area della Ricerca di Roma 1 - Roma
6. Sanja Tošić
Institute of Physics Belgrade, -, Belgrade
7. Marta Łabuda
Gdansk University of Technology, Faculty of Applied Physics and Mathematics, Gdansk
8. Annemieke Petrignani
University of Amsterdam, Van 't Hoff institute for Molecular Sciences, Amsterdam
9. Henning Schmidt
Stockholm University, Stockholm
10. Christian Alcaraz
CNRS - Université Paris-Saclay, Institut de Chimie Physique, Orsay
11. Oded Heber
Weizmann Institute of Science, Particle Physics and Astrophysics, Rehovot
12. Mark Stockett
Stockholm University, Department of Physics, Stockholm
13. Aleksandar Milosavljevic
Synchrotron SOLEIL, PLEIADES beamline, Gif sur Yvette Cedex
14. Najeeb Punnakayathil
Stockholm University, Physics, Stockholm
15. Daniel Strasser
Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Institute of Chemistry, Jerusalem
16. Jérôme Bernard
Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1, Lyon
17. Hernán Velásquez Navarro
University of Amsterdam, Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences, AMSTERDAM
18. Astrid Bergeat
University of Bordeaux, Institut des Sciences Moléculaires, Talence
19. Lionel Poisson
CNRS, Université Paris-Saclay, Gif-sur-Yvette
20. Fabien Chirot
Université Lyon 1, Chemistry, Lyon
21. Sarvesh Kumar
Sarvesh Kumar, CEFITEC Dept. of Physics, FCT/UNL, Caparica
22. Bogdan Calin
National Institute for Laser, Plasma and Radiation Physics, Center for Advanced Laser Technologies, Magurele
23. Sadia Bari
Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY, Photon Science, Hamburg
Université Le Havre Normandie, LOMC-UMR-6294, Le Havre
25. Sylvain Maclot
University of Gothenburg, Physics department, Gothenburg
26. Lorenzo Avaldi
Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR), Istituto di Struttura della Materia, Rome
27. Michael Gatchell
Stockholm University, Department of Physics, Stockholm
28. Tomasz Wasowicz
Gdansk University of Technology, Department of Physics of Electronic Phenomena, Gdańsk
29. Ionut Topala
Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iasi, Faculty of Physics, Iasi
30. Rebecca Ingle
Rebecca A Ingle, University College London, London
31. Assimo Maris
University of Bologna, Chemistry, Bologna
32. Luca Evangelisti
Luca Evangelisti, Department of Chemistry "G. Ciamician", Bologna
33. Melandri Sonia
Melandri sonia, 1965, Bologna
34. info@amscins.com
35. Gao-Lei Hou
KU Leuven, Quantum Solid-State Physics, Leuven
36. Christine Joblin
Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie, Université de Toulouse (UPS), CNRS, CNES, Toulouse
37. Alexandre Marciniak
Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie, CNRS, Toulouse
38. Matjaz Zitnik
, J. Stefan Institute, Ljubljana
39. Lucas Schwob
Lucas Schwob, Hamburg
40. Jacopo Chiarinelli
Italian research council (CNR), institute of structure of matter (ISM - CNR), rome
41. Sandra Brünken
Radboud University, FELIX Laboratory, Nijmegen
42. Mathias Poline
Mathias Poline, Physics, Åkersberga
43. Eduardo Carrascosa
Bruker Daltonik, Bremen
44. Alice Schmidt-May
Alice Schmidt-May, Fysikum, Stockholm
45. Prasenjit Seal
Tampere University, Aerosol Physics Laboratory, Physics Unit, Tampere
46. Anna Zymaková
ELI Beamlines AV CR, Department of Structural Dynamics, Dolni Brezany
47. Ivo Vinklárek
J. Heyrovsky Institut of Physical Chemistry, CAS, Department of Molecular and Cluster dynamics, Prague
48. Serge Duarte Pinto
Photonis Netherlands B.V., Scientific Innovation, Roden
49. Gabriel Karras
Gabriel Karras, STFC-RAL, Didcot
50. Jochen Küpper
Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY & Universität Hamburg, Center for Free-Electron Laser Science, Hamburg
51. Bratislav Marinkovic
Bratislav Marinkovic, Laboratory for Atomic Collision Processes, Belgrade
52. Amanda Steber
DESY, Hamburg
53. Mayken Espinoza-Andaluz
Escuela Superior Politecnica del Litoral (ESPOL), Centro de Energias Renovables y Alternativas (CERA), Guayaquil
54. Xavier Urbain
Université catholique de Louvain, Institute of Condensed Matter and Nanosciences, Louvain-la-Neuve
55. Ewald Janssens
KU Leuven, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Leuven
56. Bastian Manschwetus
Bastian Manschwetus, FS-LA laser science and technology, Hamburg
57. Camilla Calabrese
University of the Basque Country UPV/EHU, Leioa
58. Yingxuan Wu
Politecnico di Milano, Physics, Milan
59. Piero Ferrari
KU Leuven, Department of Physics, Leuven
60. Luan Gabriel Fonseca dos Santos
Universidade Federal Rural do Rio de Janeiro, Department of Fundamental Chemistry, Rio de Janeiro
61. Marcelo Goulart
University of Groningen, Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, Groningen